Kman's Red Sea 250

Kman237

Brand new to the website and my first post :) I've been looking for a good red sea forums home! Looks like I have found one!

Quick question here. I bought this tank roughly 2 months ago. The previous owner had neglected the tank for a while. He had this tank running for close to 3 years. After looking at the pumps and flirtation area this look extremely dirty to me. Can I clean this brown looking dirt out of the sump area? I'm new to saltwater so I want sure if doing this would hurt my good bacteria.

Attachments

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    834.8 KB · Views: 65
  • image.jpg
    image.jpg
    443.5 KB · Views: 57

pablomay28

I got my RSM 250 the same way. Remove both pumps and nozzles and soak them in water with white vinegar. You can run the pumps in the solution. They will come out looking new. Dont forget to clean the inside of the pump any calcium build up on the impeler shaft or magnet can be scraped with the back of a butter knife. For the rear sump you cn scrape calcium or coraline build up wth a razor. The brown stuff you can soak up with a clean towel after removing as much water as possible and wring it out clean and repeat. Once pumps are clean rince to remove any vinegar and reassemble. If you have live stock in the tank just keep water in the tank circulating while you clean your sump and pums.
Hope this helps. Good luck.

Snelly40

hi! and welcome!!!

this may be a dumb question... is there water and a reef in the tank now? i only ask because that will change peoples suggestions on how to clean it...

if it's running.. go with the above... if it's empty i'd do a full tank vingar bath and run that for a few days in the actual tank...

pablomay28

When performing the cleaning with live stock the water level will drop to where the return nozzles are. I did my cleaning with corals and fish in the tank. I just haz a tunze nano stream circulating the water while i cleaned the sump and pumps

DianaKay

Princess Diana
RS STAFF