Josh's 40g breeder

jkef2010

This the a picture of my new tank. Day#2 of having water in it. I'm new to the whole reef tank. In the bottom left is a blue leg hermit crab that came in on my liverock.

goma

RS STAFF
PREMIUM
Nice start! Lots of great people on here, so feel free to ask questions!!

WELCOME!!

jkef2010

Hi guys,
This is the third day of the tank being set up with the live rock and sand etc. I have nothing else other then the stowaway blue leg hermit crab. I did a water test today and I can't seem to get my high range ph up to 8.2 like recommended. The current readings are as follow.

High Range PH- 8.0
Ammonia- 0.15
Nitrite- 0
Nitrate-0

The one that i'm most concerned about is the ammonia level. I don't know if i'm just stressing to soon about it considering my bio filter has not had a chance to establish yet. My LFS said the levels may shoot up then rapidly drop as the bio filter becomes established. Just wanted to get some more advanced opinion's.
Thanks all.

jkef2010

One other thing I can't seem to get the temp of the water to go down right now it's at 82 i'm not 100% on that tho because I'm using just a basic stink on thermometer until my digital probe one arrives in the mail so should I disregard it until I get a more accurate reading or start looking in to a chiller. Though I think a chiller for a 29 gal biocube would kinda be over kill but I don't know anything haha so any advice would be most appreciated. Thanks.

jkef2010

Hello everyone,

I wanted to know if to many bristleworms can be problematic. I started out with one. I went and took a look at my tank tonight and counted eleven of them. No idea how they tripled in count so fast or I just didn't see them. Should I remove them? Anything help im freaking out over them :bugout: