Is Red Sea salt really worth it

Orlando-Jeff

I've been using reef crystals for a few years with no problems but I'm really getting tired of the brown residue it leaves in my mixing tank. I am thinking about changing salts. Would like to hear some comments on Red Sea regular or pro salts. My tank will be mainly softies and some lps corals. Just wondering if the extra cost is worth it. Is natural salt better than synthetic salt. I'm sure there are lots of opinions out there...

DaveK

Ah, yet another salt war is about to start... (grin)

Here is how all this shapes up. You see a lot of great tanks and many different salt brands are used.

The comparison tests made by the salt manufacturer are going to be biased. None of them are going to say we did the test and our salt did poorly. Of the tests that I have seen done by others, I have yet to see on that I didn't consider flawed and in many cased there were multiple flaws in the tests.

There are a few things you can do to make sure you are not using an obviously inferior brand of salt. After you mix a batch of water, and let it stand for awhile, adjust it for SG and then run your normal tests. You should see pH, calcium, magnesium, and alkalinity close to normal levels. If you see something that is way off, you likely have a brand of salt you don't want to use.

I know there are some people that will think, well, I'll just add a supplement and adjust the levels to where I want them. My thought is that if the manufacturer didn't get a major factor you can test for correct, they likely got a lot of factors you can't test for incorrect also.

Years ago there were a lot of marginal salts on the market. While there are some remaining, most quality salts should give you good results. Like anything else you get what you pay for.