Im thinking of stepping up to saltwater

anynamewilldo

Hi everyone,

As you can see this is my first post.
Well I have been running freshwater tanks for about 7 years now and can honestly say that I feel like its time to change. My current tank is 200 litres / 43 Gallons (UK) which Ive had for the past two years which is now starting to bore me with the lack of colours. I would like to get as much information as I can before I start a saltwater tank I wouldnt be looking to start big either I was thinking of starting with a nano set up not sure what a good size would be and even though Ive run tanks for a few years Im not really good with termonolgy so I apologize if i have to ask what you are telling me to do or get. I would also like to know what sort of costs it would incur not for the fish but for the equipment as I will need to save up for a while before I get started.

Many thanks for the help that I hope you will give me.

Reddog170

I would suggest you do some reading. The advanced marine aquarist is a good book to start with. I would also say a nano is not a real good starting point. Without the water volume of a larger tank small things make a big change fast. As for cost it varies, what do you want to keep? full reef or Fish only.
I hope this does not run you off, marine tanks are awesome. Just want you to know what you are getting into.
Look around this site, there is a TON of information right here that can point you in the right direction. Dont skip the reef chronicles. they go through the build and growth of a lot of different tanks, along with the problems they incur and what they had to do to overcome the problems. Best of luck to you and welcome to RS, Shaun

anynamewilldo