I have an ugly tank!!!

jringold

My tank officially has cycled to the point of UTS. And it is UGLY! It is ugly enough to scare a buzzard off a gut wagon! I dropped a small clean-up crew in this week (I have an RSM 250). However, I think this might be too big of a job for them. I’m thinking of getting a lawn mower this weekend. I had planned on getting one anyway, so this might be the right time.

Here is my question- I have bunches of green alga on my LR. But my phosphates keep coming up zero. I thought (maybe mistakenly) that increased phosphate was the root of the green hair algae. Actually, in general, my chemistry isn’t that bad – unless one of my test kits are bad.

Salinity: 1.023 (I do need to get that up a little)
pH: 8.1
Ammonia: 0
Nitrite: 0
Nitrate: 10 ppm
Phosphate: 0
Ca++ : 340 (need to get that up as well-using reef builder)

My bio-load is not big at all (of course I am just getting started). I have two Fire Fish, a Orange back, a butt load of hermits and snails, 6 soft coral frags and some small mushrooms. I am having skimmer drama but I haven’t been real concerned looking at my tank chemistry.

Hopefully this will just pass.

Morgan

Adrienne

Hi, for a newly cycled tank you have a fairly high bio load in it. How long has the tank been running for?

The reason your phosphate is showing 0 is that your algae is using it all up to grow.
How much are you feeding your fish and how often, and what is your tank maintenance schedule like?

Kman237

Adrienne, is right your algae is eating up all your phosphate. I ran into this same problem with my RMS 250. I did a water change weekly. Close to 50% for about a month. That way you can take out most of the phosphate and the algae will starve. I also started running GFO and still do now.