How to Get Rid of the Dreaded Bryopsis?

Alright, I've been battling this stuff for a couple of months now and I just can't seem to get rid of it :(. I am "weeding" my tank just about every other day and pulling clumps of this crap out...it's EVERYWHERE!!! I know some people claim the only way to eradicate this pest is to remove your rocks, scrub them and maybe even boil them but this is NOT an option for me, I have a Bonsai style aquascape constructed with acrylic rods, black zip ties and a lot of epoxy and after all the effort and hard work it took to construct this aquascape there's no way I'm tearing it apart...are there any other options? I already know that there is no known natural predator of this stuff (which is always my preffered method of dealing with pests), I have heard some people raise their magnesium to very high levels (1600 - 2000) and that kills it but wouldn't that also stress out my corals pretty bad? Would a chemical such as API AlgaeFix work? I have no idea how this started, I have fairly new bulb in my light (a couple of months old), I do weekly 20% water changes, I skim 24/7. My water params are great. I do feed feed heavily and could reduce my coral feedings to every other day but I've heard doing that alone won't make much of a difference now that the Bryopsis has a strong foothold. Any and all advice from people who have fought this "war" would be greatly appreciated!!!

seafansar

I'm battling it right now with magnesium. I've just been adding mag slowly for I think a month now and am starting to see the stuff die back. I've been adding the mag slowly, cause I'm lazy and haven't been testing the mag levels. So far it seems to be working and hasn't been affecting my corals (acros, montis, zoas, palys, acans, and duncans) or fish.