Hello from NC

Magick

Hi!!! I'm a newbie from Apex, NC. I've been researching reef tanks for about a year now, and been facinated with them for MUCH longer!!! I don't yet have my set up... I'm trying to decide between a 24g Nano Cube and possibly a used larger set up. Any advice is always welcome... Are there many Reef Keepers in the Raleigh, NC area?

Tammy
Apex, NC

mps9506

I'm not in raleigh, but down the road in Wilmington.
We are getting quite a few people for your area in here though.
Glad to have you on board. You have some really good locals on board here.

mps9506

Suprisingly large, well put togther reefin community here. It's slowly becoming an organized movement here also :D
You'll also want to check out NCFrag, RARE (I think that's the name, Raleigh Area Reef something I think...), CCRK (Coastal Carolina Reef Keepers). We all have message boards and email lists on Yahoo groups and do a little posting on RC.
The new "bigger and better" group is supposed to be MASC, Marine Aquarium Soceity of the Carolinas. I haven't been very involoved in any of the groups lately since I opened up a store about a year ago.
Pretty much all the folks I've had the pleasure of meeting in person from these groups have been extremely good people willing to help out with just about anything. Really good to get involved, get lots of frags that way too :)

ReefLady

Staff member
Welcome! :bigbounce

For your first tank, I think something around the 50-75G range is better. Just a round number there… remember, a larger tank will dilute “mistakes” and a smaller tank will concentrate them. :)

Travis

ScottT1980

Magick, where in Apex? I am off Apex BBQ Rd., in the Scott's Mill neighborhood (I believe it would be south of downtown).

I am just setting up a new tank, will have fish and frags in the near future (fingers crossed)

Take er easy
Scott T.

Welcome