Has anyone tried to keep an octopus

reefs reefs

I want to keep one but dont no if they r to hard to keep. I have 6 years experience in salt water what do you guys think tank size and all that stuff

kospaintball

like he said, they grow to great sizes and love to crawl out. plus you have to think that if you scare them and they release ink... then what... that water is wasted. Their feeding habits? How wasteful are they? How sloppy of an eater? What kind of filtration system? Possible tank mates? Really consider all the questions before you take this challenge... keep this thread updated tho if you do decide to get one... i would love to read up on it and see its progress.

kospaintball

The problem is they grow very rapidly and i think people have a hard time keeping them alive because not alot of people keep them / can keep them (because of size) and so there isn't alot of personal info on them to help progress our knowledge on how to keep them

Hamp

I have been looking into getting one for a year+, and have just postponed it again. They are really cool, but take a lot of dedication. You will need a species only tank, with a big skimmer and a tank that is completely escape proof. There are dwarf species that you can keep in an aquarium of 20g or smaller. There are a few that need aquariums of 55g and up, and some even way larger. They do have a short lifespan, most you will be lucky to have for a year, it seems. There is also a great website dedicated to cephelopods at TONMO.com. Some really cool people who know their stuff.

Basile