Green Merulina plate coral turning brown at the edges

AntonMorris

I recently bought a green Merulina coral 6". I am new to the hobby and was looking for a plating Monti but the store had non and advised me the Merulina was similar with the same needs as a Monti.
I have since read on line that the Merulina is a hard / expert coral !
I have had the coral 3 weeks and after a while I noticed a browning on parts of the coral. I have a Red Sea Max 500 with T5 lights. I have placed the coral half way up with medium flow.
Can anybody advise?
My water test ok on all Zero. Calcium 465

Many thanks !!

Steve L

I went back and looked at your forum posts since joining RS and it appears that your tank is very new. Practically all but simple soft corals require a well established tank (6 months to 1 year old) before they can grow and thrive. LFS's are always happy to sell just about anything to people who are new to the hobby, this even though they know that it is likely what they are selling won't survive. Until your water parameters settle down it really isn't safe to add much in the way of corals and even many fish.

Do yourself a favor and don't buy anything else until you research it online first, and there are many members here that are more than happy to answer your questions.

Good luck!

DianaKay

Princess Diana
RS STAFF
I agree with Steve L. I try to AVOID corals & fish that are rated as "difficult" and LFS will very seldom tell you that they are hard to keep alive. It reads to be a high light requiring coral so it might not be high enough up in your tank. If you see feeding tentacles extended, maybe you could try to spot it some thawed brine shrimp or some phytoplankton. Good Luck, please update with changes.

AntonMorris

So it browning a sign of not enough light?
I put it mid tank to acclimate before moving to the top.
Does the browning mean its dying?
Thanks !

reefer gladness

Does the browning mean its dying?