First Time Reefer - My Tanks Journey

This thread may start out a little slow, as I have only just placed the order for my new tank and have been given a timescale of us to 4 weeks before it arrives.

Since I am a first time reef tank owner though, I thought that I might journal why and how I have gotten to where I am.

A bit of background. I am a 34 year old married male. I have 1 stepson who is 20 (from my wife's first marriage, and 1 grand-daughter who is just over a year old.

I was born in Louisiana in the USA, but moved to the UK to live in Wakefield 9 years ago as this is where my wife was raised. I have kept freshwater fish for about the last 4 years, although only in a very small (65 litre) tank.

I work in IT for a Global finance company, and recently annual bonus time hit. I told my wife that I wanted to get a larger fish tank, and after a couple weeks of coaxing, I got permission to have a larger tank in the living room, in addition to the freshwater tank in our bedroom. Convinced that things would go better if I could get my wife involved, I managed to talk her down to the Local Fish Store with me, as it is located on the same site as a garden centre she loves to visit.