Filtering - Ceramic vs Live rock

romaocg

Good evening! I am a beginner in marine and started today to cycle my RSM 130D. I live and dead rocks to start with maturation. My question is, use a sponge and ceramic media that comes kit? Or live rock does that job well done? I have heard talk that these ceramics and the sponge only together ... Can anyone help me?
TY

Romão Guimarães
Obrigado,
Melhores Cumprimentos.

DaveK

Live rock is you primary source of biological filtration in a reef system. In my opinion ceramic media has no place at all in a reef system and should not be used. A sponge may be used for gross mechanical filtration, but it should be cleaned often, at least once a week.

romaocg

Live rock is you primary source of biological filtration in a reef system. In my opinion ceramic media has no place at all in a reef system and should not be used. A sponge may be used for gross mechanical filtration, but it should be cleaned often, at least once a week.

Thanks for the reply. I'm thoughtful of why these ceramics are On the Red Sea Max kit.

Romão Guimarães
Obrigado,
Melhores Cumprimentos.

nanoreefing4fun

RS STAFF
+1 ^ davek post

welcomefish.gif

to ReefSanctuary, a real Sanctuary of reef forums, with lots of very nice members
745.gif

Start a new tank thread & share your tank with us so we can follow along - we love pics :)

DianaKay

Princess Diana
RS STAFF
Hello Romão :wave:
:rbwwelc:WELCOME to Reef Sanctuary :crowd:
I agree very porous Live Rock works well for biological filtration. Hope to see some pictures of your tank soon. :)
Very BEST WISHES....:cruiser:

rostervandross

I don't see why you would not use the ceramic bits.. They get colonized with beneficial bacteria just like adding "dry rock" or live rock. I'm not sure what the red sea stuff looks like though

They sell this stuff called cermedia that is crazy expensive but I think the ceramic cylinder things like fluval's are the same principle

DaveK