cobalt neo-therm 150w?

halo2rain

As you guessed it im wondering if any of you fellow aquarium enthusiasts have used or heard anything about the cobalt neo-therm 150w heaters I was gonna put 2 of them in my 75g since my unknown brand heater is taking on water and probably shocking my fish (im taking it out the tank at lunch today) any feedback will help and if I dont like the heaters or people say they are garbage I can just return them but reason I liked them was because brs (bulk reef supply) gave them a great review and ive heard great things about them from amazon.com reviews also the form factor will fit my 20l refugium im building quite nicely

Snid

I have no first hand experience with them, but they rate very well on many sites. I suspect as far as heaters go, you've made a good selection and having 2 of them is smart.

whippetguy

RS STAFF
PREMIUM
I use a smaller neotherm in my 50g, wouldn't ever use any other type of heater now.

DaveK

The heater itself looks good. The one thing I notice is that it's suction cup mounted. I have yet to see a suction cup that lasted any length of time in SW.

reefer gladness

Reviews are good, I'm sure it will work fine.

Reading the specs though does prompt me to wonder how efficient it is or possibly how manufacturers 'rate' their heaters according to tank size. I've always used Eheim Jager heaters, a 150-watt Jager is rated for tanks between 53-79 gallons. The 150-watt Cobalt is only rated up to 40 gallons.

So... unless there's something funky going on with how these manufacturers rate their heaters the Jager is twice as efficient at less than 1/2 the cost. Two of the 150-watt Cobalts will run you about $140-150 and a single 200-watt Jager is only $30. If it were me - I'd buy the 200-watt Jager heater for a 75G and put the leftover money towards a proper aquarium controller - but that's just me.

halo2rain