Best plants for 30", 17W fluorescent light?

thechristophers

I'm new to all this. My tank is a 29-gallon, 19" tall, 30" long, 13" wide, if that matters. Water temperature will be in the mid-70s. A 28" fluorescent light comes in the hood. It's 17 watts. Given the wattage and the depth of the tank, what (preferably cheap) plants are suitable for such lighting conditions? Or does it not matter? (And if this is relevant, I'll be putting neon tetras and some boesemani and turquoise rainbows in there). Thanks, guys!

SubRosa

That's very low light. Anubias, Java Fern, Java Moss and maybe some Crypts would be about it.

thechristophers

Thanks. Yeah, I would like it to be brighter, actually. Brighter light would make the fish look more brightly colored, right? Should I get a brighter bulb? My hood only holds one bulb, and I don't want to spend money on a bigger hood, especially since bulbs seem to be so cheap. But I just noticed something: lumens. The wattage is the amount of energy it uses, but lumens are actually the light output, right? So what's a good output (lumen) level to have?

Doogle

Ditch the light for a dual T5HO fixture like the 30" 2x24w fishneedit t5HO fixture, I'd get a pink bulb & 6500k or 10,000k bulb with it.
I would say get better quality but freshwater plants dont need much & I own the 30" 4x24w fishneedit and good bulbs- just fine for corals.

+1 to plants, but they won't grow until you buy better lighting.

thechristophers

Doogle, is the 30" 2x24w fishneedit t5HO fixture a whole new hood? I don't want to go that route; I bought the aquarium tank I bought because it came with the hood and filter and all that and I didn't want to pay for it all separately. So I need one-light option. Also, why a pink bulb? I like white light better. Does pink mean it giv

Doogle

Dude, sorry you bought a crap hood & t-8 light combo. Go open top (all planted tanks are) & buy a t5HO fixture.
My 30" 4x24 looks like this. A long time ago.lol
9492D5E4.jpg