Apex system - what exactly can you do with it?

SPR

I set up my Red Sea Max S 650 in June 2016 and am now looking at maybe setting the Apex system up but I am new to the hobby and just wondered exactly what you can do with it ?

I have the following:

Main pump
C Skim 1800
HYdra 26 LEDs
Kamoer 4 channel dosing pump
UVC steriliser
Heaters and other standard pumps in Max S

I appreciate it monitors salinity, temperature etc

For example can it tell me if my main pump fails and if so how?

Can it tell me if my auto top off has failed and the water in the sump is therefore below a certain safe level for the return pump- again if so how?

I am not sure exactly what it's capable off and what add on I would need

Just wondered exactly what you think of it and how you use it so any help greatly appreciated

DaveK

Many people would not want to run a system with out a controller. I feel quite a bit different about them. I have posted this before, but it's worth reposting.

DaveK's Standard Lecture #5 - Controllers

Controllers are at best an optional item. They can do a lot of nice things, but you don't really need one to have a fantastic reef. There are many things you can do with a controller that can be done just as well with a timer or two or a float switch.

Before even considering a controller, make sure the rest of your system is up to par. There is no point investing in a controller if your lighting, or filtration is substandard. Many people would get much better results upgrading something else in their system compared to adding a controller.

Just like lighting and filtration, controllers have parts that need periodic replacement. Expect to replace pH and/or ORP probes about every 12 - 18 months, and you need the stuff to recalibrate them too.