Alkality, Mg, Ca all very high. Concern?

RogerBrooks

Hello:
I am new to reefing and have an Innovative Marine Fusion Nano 20 gal tank with skimmer and carbon reactor. It's been going for a couple of months. The tank has a lot of LPS, softies, and 9 small fish.

Question:
My readings are as follows:
- NO3: 0
- Ammonia: 0
- Alkalinity: 12.3 to 13.2 (depending on which test kit)
- Magnesium: 1400
- Calcium: 470+

I do about a 20% water change each week and my readings are always high, as you can see above. Is this cause for concern?
- When I add fresh water it is RO water.
- The salt water I get from the LFS.

Are there ways to reduce these numbers besides adding RO water (already doing) and more water changes (already do every week).

Much appreciated!

mr_tap_water

Hi there
Your stats are at the higher end but nothing to worry about and they usually start to drop over a length of time on their own,
If you're really not happy a Couple of ways you could drop them is to choose a Salt brand with lower stats this will gradually bring them down after a number of water charges, also your SG what do you have that at at the moment , if that is on the high side you could also drop as well and will also see a difference over a short period of time.
That said if I was you if you're corals look happy I would just leave it for now keep testing regular and if it increases any more then try the above.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

nanoreefing4fun

RS STAFF
+1 ^

while your alk is on the upper end I would not start trying to change it dosing, I would be more worried about the bio-load of your nine fish in a 20 gallon

a couple of good reads

http://reefkeeping.com/issues/2004-12/rhf/index.php
http://www.advancedaquarist.com/2002/11/chemistry

Marine Fish Stocking Limit

parameters_zpse708bae7.jpg

welcomefish.gif

to ReefSanctuary, a real Sanctuary of reef forums, with lots of very nice members