Adrienne's Red Sea Max C-250

Adrienne

Way back in January I ordered a Red Sea Max C-250, the first shipment of which was due to arrive in NZ mid April. This was my first foray in to reef keeping and was instigated by my husband who wanted a marine tank.

Three weeks ago we finally picked up the tank from our LFS

and a couple of days later my husband and I put the cabinet together. Being a total newbie to reef keeping I had been searching the net for information on how to build the tank and cabinet and by very good fortune, the night before I had come across Roy Page's videos on YouTube which gave me way more information than the instructions that came with the cabinet.
Construction of the cabinet took about two hours and then we placed the tank on top. At that stage I headed away for a weeks holiday.

Last week over several days I placed all the equipment in the sump and here I struck problems. Being that my tank is most probably the first tank set up in the country so no actual tried and true information available, and with no idea about a skimmer, I found the instruction manual seriously lacking in detail. My LFS could not answer my questions so on to the net again and I came across Reef Sanctuary and this group :whstlr: and immediately found that I was not alone in trying to work this out. However with my questions now answered I moved on on Sunday with the layout and filling of the tank.
The tank has 25kg of partially cycled rock and 18kg of Red Sea Sand (pink) - this became available in NZ only two weeks ago.
With everything ready to go the tank was switched on and apart from one of the circulation pumps being faulty (replacement arrived today) the tank is now GO!