Search results

1. dwall174

Planted freshwater tank with prefilter/sump set-up?

Well if they were easy everyone would do it! My main concern is being able to leave the tank some-what unatended for close to a week at a time. I'm a truck driver & I was running over the road (out two weeks at a time) for the last few years, Recently swiched companies & now I'm home a lot...
  2. dwall174

Not surprising since it's probably over 15yrs. old, It's not been in use for the past 6yrs. But it ran good back then. Yeah I understand the process, And agree that a refugium would not work well in a planted set-up. Probably would work good in a FW fish only tank thou! That's what I'll...
  3. dwall174

I'm planning on using a substrate like flourite or Miracle Mud (freshwater) I also seen a way to make your own substrate from Bentonite clay (cat-litter) & several other items. Yeah I realize that a refugium would be counter productive on a FW set-up, But mine worked great on my SW system...
  4. dwall174

Yeah I miss the hobby, Hopefully with the changes to my work schedual I'll be able to get my feet wet again. My old SW set-up with a auto top off system & auto feeder could be left alone for about 5 days, But after that levels started to change pretty quickly. With the newer electronic...
  5. dwall174

I have a Ice-Cap 430 ballast that I used to run my actinics off of. My plans are for a 90gal. tank, So that should be good for starting off with! Yeah from what I have read it sounds like a C02 system is the way to go! But as you pointed out, The sump set-up will degas things faster. Seeing...
  6. dwall174

Hello All I've been out of the hobby for several years now due to beeing out of town & on the road a lot. Changes with my work schedual now give me more time at home so I'm looking into setting up a planted freshwater tank for now. I still have my RO/DI unit, storage tank & a...
  7. dwall174

Soap Dish Escape artist