Search results

1. Reefstick

And so, it begins.... again!

My last post... years ago,l, was about a pistol shrimp mishap that destroyed my 75g show tank. It was nothing more than coral-soup. My wife and I were new parents and it was too much to take in that season of our lives. I played with tanks since, a 90 gallon corner with 30 neons schooling...
  2. Reefstick

Back at it, and out of the loop.

So, after having our two babies. Rachael and I are getting bit once more by the reef bug. If you all remember we had a very nice 75G mixed reef that was our life for about 5 years. After the leak, we broke it down and sold off the livestock and gave the rare items to a buddy to look after...
  3. Reefstick

Bio-calcium

Fellow reefers, I have been using Tropic Marin Bio-Cal for about 18 months now and I like the results, though the price is up there. Do you guys know of a similar type of calcium for less money? I like the convenience of the Bio-Calcium because I don't have to add any buffers with it...
  4. Reefstick

Too much light??? Nah!!!

I am tired of looking at my 30G under PC's. 96W just isn't enough for me. So I am thinking about putting one of my 175W MH 15K units over the tank. However, it may be too much light.... don't know yet. The question is, do you all think I could use only the MH over the tank and put the PC's...
  5. Reefstick

Reefstick's Reef

Hello everyone, Well, I finally went out a picked up a little bigger tank. After the 75G leaked all over the basement floor, I was crushed...... but I have made peace with my anger and now I am ready for re-build. This time however I am going small, When the 75G died I cramed as much coral...
  6. Reefstick

MH only?

As some of you know I take care of a 150G for a local company, it happens to be in there conference room, and gets some indirect morning light. (until about 10:00am.) The question I have is that he wants me to make he tank into a reef. But here is the problem. He only has 72"W x 10"D area...