Search results

1. N

RSM 130D and a sohal tang

Hi Irishmarine I have no experience with the sohal tang so won't comment on that. Many RSM owners keep small blue or yellow tangs with great succes though. Eventually they will outgrow the tank but if the tank is not heavy stocked with other fish you should be able to keep them for at least...
  2. N

RSM Owners Nature/Wildlife Pictures, Etc.

Here are a few from my latest trip to the Galapagos:
  3. N

What to use to control Hair Algae ?

Hi Satbert! The Sea Hare is by far the most effective at eating algae but as Reefmack says it will completely remove all algae in your tank within a few days and after that you have to feed him manually with Seaveggies or similar otherwise he will starve to death! Emerald crabs and turbo...
  4. N

Tonight's Topic

Most say that somewhere between 10x-15x the volume of your tank per hour is the optimal flow. The marginal benefit above 10x per hour is small though and very small above 15x. Too much flow is when your rocks are pushed over and all your fish are stock in one place even though they appear to be...
  5. N

Any thoughts on the inch per gallons theory

As with all rules of thumb - they are only rough guidelines. If you use all stock equipment you should probably stick with the rules. With improved filtering, great LR volume, improved skimming and more frequent WC along with greater general care (active management of water quality) you can...
  6. N

How to remove hair algae effectively!

I believe the scientific name is Aplysia dactylomela. In a week or so when I am 100% sure that the algae is defeated I will pass it on to either another reefkeeper or back to the LFS. Normally i would not introduce a critter to the tank that is not sustainable for a longer period but I was...
  7. N