Glove Polyp? Sorry no pics...

in_a_days

Alright, I'm a relative noob and have not yet added any polyps or soft corals to my tank. Waiting for the kit to set up my 'fuge to hopefully do away with the last lingering nitrates. But I've found what I think is a polyp on a piece of live rock in my tank.

Unfortunately my camera is worthless at close range so I can't get any kind of picture... but it looks very similar to these polyps...

p_85706.jpg

The major difference is that rather than these kind of feathered tentacles, they look EXACTLY like fat little bean pods. The polyp is tan/flesh colored and the longest tentacles are close to 1/2". Sorry again about no pic, any input will be much appreciated!

framerguy

These are Clavulaia or "clove polyps" and sounds like what you have. They are an encrusting type coral that prefer moderate lighting and moderate to strong flow. They have 8 "tentacles" and are usually hardy (although mine aren't doing so hot)

reefer3

Could also be clove polyp. I have them in my tank they have solid leave like tentacles, tanish color, with a bright yellow center. I would post a pic but they're soo small and my cam is soo cheap I can't get a good one.LOL

in_a_days

These are Clavulaia or "clove polyps" and sounds like what you have. They are an encrusting type coral that prefer moderate lighting and moderate to strong flow. They have 8 "tentacles" and are usually hardy (although mine aren't doing so hot)

That is very very close. :)

The only difference is that in that pic I can still see a bunch of very small feathery filaments coming off each tentacle. Whereas mine just looks very very smooth. But this is easily the closest thing to what I've got that I'm yet to see. Probably the same family and just a different sp.

Thanks much!