HELP! Beginner looking for feedback.

Nroddot

Hi, I'm very new to the hobby and I'm very excited (and also a little bit nervous...) to jump into the reefing world. But, before I spend thousands of dollars on equipment, I wonder if any experienced hobbyists would be willing to provide me feedback on my equipment choices?

Tank: Red Sea Reefer 350

Lighting: Red Sea ReefLED 90 x2

Skimmer: RSK 600 Reefer Skimmer

Powerheads: Vortech mp40 x2

Return Pump: Vectra M2

Reactors: BRS Carbon and GFO Dual Reactor

Chiller: JBJ Arctica 1/10 HP

Heater: Finnex TH 500 Watt Heating Element

UV Sterilizer: Coralife Turbo Twist

Down the road, I'd like to set up a dosing pump and refuigum. But from what I understand, refugiums are nice to have but absolutely not mandatory. Since I'm just starting, I'd like to keep things simple at first. But I do have a question on the plumbing. Can I connect everything to the return pump? Or is it better to have separate pumps for the reactors and chiller?

This tank will be going into a bedroom. I realize some noise will always be present, but if there is anything I can do to make the system as quiet as possible, please let me know. I tried to select components that supposedly run quiet.

Thank you for reading and I look forward to any comments or feedback that you may have for me. I really appreciate it.

Last edited:

DaveK

First off you did a very smart thing by asking about all this before you spent any money. ou have no idea how many times people have purchased first, only to find out they got all the wrong gear.

You might find the lighting a bit sparse and give you some dim areas. Start with 2 but be prepared to add a 3rd one if needed.