Hello

Jerrycobos

Good morning yall. I have had my 75 gallon saltwater tank for about 9 months, let it run for 6 months before I put a single fish in there. I am up to 6 fish, 3 clowns, a wrasse and 2 others not sure of their names off my head. I have 4 little frags for coral. I bought a eheim filter system, coral lighting, and just recently purchased a hob protien skimmer.
I have treated my tank 3 times now for red algae (because that's what I was told it was) and just by my own research on this forum learned I actually have brown algae that is common in new tanks. I hope my fish dont die from this treatment I did yesterday morning.
I want to learn all possible to have a salt water reef tank, and enjoy their beauty. I purchased a anemone that died this morning due to my lack of knowledge. I should not even consider one for a year, now I know after the poor thing perished.
Any advice would be great, like I said I'm new to all of this but willing to put in the work and effort to be able to have one of these amazing tanks. Thanks for everything guys

Sent from my SM-G960U using Tapatalk

DaveK

I have treated my tank 3 times now for red algae ...

I am assuming you used one of the various red slime removal products. Generally you never want to use such products. While they do kill red slime algae, unless you correct the source of the problem, all you end up with is getting a different problem algae to take it's place. After treatment it's often a good idea to do a large partial water change. That being said such treatments are usually not a direct problem to the fish in a system. You can still have a problem if a lot of algae dies off because that's all now a waist product the systems needs to deal with.

Uncle99

And welcome to the sanctuary