I think my tank may be infected?

jls13

I am new to saltwater tanks (and aquariums in general). I've been told that white poop signifies internal parasites. Well, I just noticed that my dwarf flame angel has white poop hanging (see pic) and I have a juvenile clownfish which hasn't eaten in two days. Can someone with more experience than myself suggest cause as well as best treatments? Thanks in advance!

Attachments

• angel.jpg
    angel.jpg
    1.8 MB · Views: 12

Uncle99

Does the FA eat normal?
How long has this fish been with you?

The clown, yup, not eating, that's not good.

The stop eating thing can be associated with a parasite like Ick or velvet buts it's impossible to accurately diagnose without visual identification.

It might be a good idea to put him in QT and treat with Prazi or similar.
Lower salinity to 1.019 in the QT will help him breath easier.

Continue to try and feed....watch for white spits.....if you see any....I would use copper as it treats both Ick and velvet.

The FA, except for the poop, is all normal?

jls13

The angel is very active (had trouble snapping that pic as he was busy with his LR routine). MY tank is only about 4 months old. I've had the angel for a couple of months and the clown for about a month. The clown also seems to be behaving normal as well. He is the male of a pair and follows the female everywhere.

I do not currently have a QT. I could set one up but my guess is it would not be ready in time?

Can I dose my entire tank? My assumption not good for all the good bacteria already established. How about the other fish and inverts?

I cannot use copper with the inverts correct?

Is it ok to separate the clownfish pair? Will they return to a pair when reintroduced?

Thanks again for your help

jls13

btw, the clownfish's appearance is fine visually. Nothing out of the ordinary with how he looks or is behaving ( besides the fact he has stopped eating)

Uncle99