Hello everyone! New to Saltwater and Fish keeping in general~

Betation

Hi everyone! Im relatively new to fishkeeping. When I was stationed in Japan I fell in love with freshwater aquascaping and tried my hand in it but didn't work out very well. I was very inexperienced and wasted a lot of money and sadlyfish too. I moved to San Diego and tried to set up a 20g long saltwater tank but I again made some mistakes and ended up getting rid of the tank after a few months of struggling to get it cycled and making any coral grow.
Luckily now I did more research and got the IM 20g AIO tank and have taken my time cycling. I have set up a good light (A160 Tuna with the controller), a skimmer, live rock and recently added copepods after my tank finished cyclying and brown algea started to appear. I dont plan on adding any coral or fish until im comfortable enough with the tank and mixing water. I don't have anyway to mix water yet so I have being relying on IM premix saltwater. I hope to learn a great deal on these forums and hopefully upload my tank as it grows.
My hopeful stock list:
2 clownfish
1 indigo or orchid dottyback
1 goby - not sure what kind
1 blenny - not sure yet either
soft corals
5 to 6 hermits and snails - my mistake last tank was adding way too much hermits and snails. they competed for food and a bunch of snails got eaten

Uncle99

Welcome, starting with zero TDS RODI, using a salt whose parameters match what your going to keep, and deploying and maintaining the 8 major parameters will in itself lead you on a path of success.

Don't chase numbers, it's stability of those 8 parameters which is paramount.

Good luck, slow is better.

DaveK

Luckily now I did more research and got the IM 20g AIO tank and have taken my time cycling. ...
My hopeful stock list:
2 clownfish
1 indigo or orchid dottyback
1 goby - not sure what kind
1 blenny - not sure yet either

Welcome to RS.