Should i use a normal water conditioner to dechlorinate the tank water?

• Yes

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • No

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Get a RO/DI system

Votes: 1 100.0%

• Total voters

Elias

I'm new to reefing and i need to ask, since i use tap water in all my tanks should i use a tap water conditioner to dechlorinate the water i use to cure live rock, also whats an optimal saline level for curing live rocks?

Robert_ellis

Yes. But my recommendation is to stop using tap asap. You'd be better off with even standard ro water from any water store. Tap has to many particles in the water that are not good. You will always battle types of algae because of the stuff in the water.

Sent from my SM-N960U using Tapatalk

Elias

Yes. But my recommendation is to stop using tap asap. You'd be better off with even standard ro water from any water store. Tap has to many particles in the water that are not good. You will always battle types of algae because of the stuff in the water.

Battle algae? isn't that what a cleanup crew is for? also were i live buying water for my 450 liter aquarium is not an option, ill keep using Tap for now and might go over to a osmosis water system in the far of future. Also i know tap water got a bad rap in some countries but I live in Sweden and we have the cleanest tap water in the world.

Anyways thanks for the suggestion.

DaveK

This is a questions where the best answer is "none of the above". Get your own RO/DI unit and use that as your water source for mixing SW. You can use RO/DI water from your LFS, but it's really iffy. Always test it first to make sure it has 0 nitrated and 0 phosphates and very low hardness and carbonate hardness.

If you must use tap water (not recommended) you should use a water conditioner such as Prime and let the water stand for an hour or two before mixing your SW.

Uncle99