Courtney's Red Sea Reefer 350

Oxylebius

Bicolor blennies can become molten in color (white splotchy) when sleeping and stressed, but your picture doesn't look like that. Do the white spots ever go away. I ask b/c the molten in color (white splotchy) would come and go. If not, I'd say that it is ich.

Courtney

I remember he went white and blotchy when I moved tanks as that must have stressed him out erm I think I have seen with a few which went away then they came back. I have also seen a few white spots on the fins of my pair of firefish.

Will keep and eye on them and update on here but if it is ich what is my best course of action as far as any kind of medication or treatment seeing as I have coral and don't have a quarantine tank to transfer the sick fish to.

SPR

Thanks I'll have a read. I wouldn't mind having a small QT tank set up somewhere for this type of thing have to see if I have the space to get one going.
I have no real knowledge of fish disease but if I had an issue I would try Poly Lab Medic as my first port of call, although i haven’t needed to as yet. I read up on all of this when @Nobbygas had issues and my LFS keep it as well. What they did say is don’t panic as sometimes with feeding etc the fish can fight it off naturally.

Do you know the history of the fish ? Ie how long the shop had it and were they got it from, and if from a wholesales did they have full QT procedures in place ?

You could also start looking at running a UV-C to help kill of any floating ‘nasties’ in the water column. I run one 24/7 since I set up tank.

Last edited:

Nobbygas