S-400 or E-260?

metastable

Hi everyone! I finally got some space to put an aquarium hat I dreamed for years. I’m a beginner so I plan to get one of Redsea’s all in one product. I’m looking at max E260 or S 400. They don’t seem too different to me other than size, but the s series are much more expensive. Any comments or suggestions? Thanks a lot!

BTW what is a good way to buy the tank? It seems that no pet shop nearby carries the model I want.

DaveK

This is always a tough call. Before you make you choice give a lot of thought to what you plan to do with the tank, and your level of experience. You may find that the smaller tank will fill your needs.

Smaller tanks can be real gems, but you do need to understand their limitations. The larger tank lets you do more but it will be more work, and likely cost more.

Don't forget to consider the total cost of ownership. All those additions you might want can add up. Also the cost of electricity to power the tank can be a lot too.

If you can find a LFS that is within about 100 miles and has what you want, then I'd say support your LFS. Otherwise buy from one of the major online suppliers. It is also possible to look into the used market. Like anything else used you can get a good proce, but if there are problems, it's your problems.

Reactions: SPR

metastable

Thanks so much! But I cannot even get a good idea about the key difference between the two other than the size... e.g. the filter? light? skimmer?

SPR

Thanks so much! But I cannot even get a good idea about the key difference between the two other than the size... e.g. the filter? light? skimmer?
I have had both (well I have the Max S 650 which is same as 400 but bigger) and although they both look beautiful, the filtration and other systems are completely different and are worlds apart when it comes to maintenance cleaning etc.

The lights are the same with the Hydra 26HD’s