Shaun's 2000 Litre (530 USG) Living Reef & Red Sea Max S 650 LED Design & Build

SPR

Well, for the first time since June 2016 when I set up the tank, I've taken the main pump out and cleaned it.

Now this may seem an easy task for all you experienced types out there, but I have never done this before and despite practicing on the spare I purchased, just in case the one I had failed before I cleaned it, I was a little nervous. However, it was very easy and infact the pump wasn't that dirty surprisingly. I'll do every 6 months or so now.

The NYOS Quantum 160 is starting to produce some nasty stuff in a good way, and although I'm still fine tuning it, it's very good indeed. Totally silent.

Anyway, I know you like pictures so here are a few.....

The full tank shot is the view I have to my left whilst watching TV, which is why I have to watch everything 3 times!! I just get distracted by the tank. The pictures do not do these tanks justice at all. They are stunning.

IMG_0577.JPGIMG_0576.JPGIMG_0574.JPGIMG_0572.JPGIMG_0566.JPGIMG_0555.JPGIMG_0553.JPGIMG_0555.JPG

Last edited:

SPR

How are the triggers? Any eggs that you have seen?
Beautiful tank!

The Triggers are both good but I've seen not any eggs as yet and they were both behaving a little different last night in that they weren't 'hovering' as much. Will wait and see what happens and keep an eye out.

SPR

Would you not be worried about your corals with the triggers ? beautiful looking tank by the way

Thank you.

I will be worried if they fill the tank with baby triggers!

Before I got them as a pair, I did loads of reading for several months before I finally purchased them and was lucky the shop hadn't sold them, but they were quiet expensive.

They are Blue Throat Triggers and the consensus seemed to be that they were one of the more reef safe Triggers so I went ahead and got them. It was a chance as with some fishes but...