Shaun's 2000 Litre (530 USG) Living Reef & Red Sea Max S 650 LED Design & Build

SPR

HI Guys

I've been watching my pair of Blue Throat Triggers over the last weeks, as you do, and Im wondering if they are actually trying to breed or are breeding?

They have lived under the rocks on the left side of my tank since I got them probably 7 months ago, and have always 'danced/spun' around together and are generally very friendly to one another cruising around the tank etc.

They will also twirl upwards together spinning around etc.

I've also noticed over the last 3-4 weeks that whenever I put my long callipers in the tank that they try to attack it, and over the last few weeks whenever I clean the glass inside they have started going after the glass magnet (Flipper).

They have also been blowing in the sand at the bottom of the tank every so often together.

Also, I don't know if im imagining it, but the female seems to have a slightly swollen underside.

I'm no expert (well actually I know nothing!) and just wondered on your thoughts ?

SPR

Ok. So i guess we dont have many Blue Throat Trigger breeding experts on here in view if the lack of response then.

Well I know everyone likes pictures so heres some from today and the tank is currently approximately 9 months old.

Also i purchased a wrasse a few days ago. I think hes a flasher wrasse.

I've also learned this weekend how to take an aquarium pump to pieces. This may seem easy to all you experienced reefers, but I'd never done it before. In fact I even purchased a spare Red Sea main pump as back up in case it failed before I learned to clean it. I have just taken the spare to pieces to see how it fits together and I'll then do the one in service at next water change.