NoPox with Rowaphos?

SPR

i have been dosing NoPox for around 6 months in my Max S 650 litre and around a month ago I reduced the dosage from 12ml to 6 ml per day as the nitrate was around 1.5ppm and phosphate around 0.8 and indeed these are roughly the current levels although the phosphate has crept up to around 0.1-0.16ppm

I have noticed since reducing the dose of NoPox that brown (probably dark green) algea started growing and has gradually got worse over a period of 5 weeks so I have just increased the NoPox back to 12ml per day. The algae is mainly growing in the shadier parts of the tank but is spreading and today I got fed up and scrapped a load off with a tooth brush and installed some 100micron filters to pick,it out. Also have UVC running

Everything I read points to the cause of the hair algea to be high phosphate although this is in line with the Red Sea accelerated growth parameters and so now I have been reading about phosphate reducers and am considering trying Rowaphos initially just maybe in a media bag but possibly getting a reactor to run this and drive the phosphate down.

Everything I read says phosphate should be around 0.03 (other than the accelerated growth program) so I am thinking of ditching accelerated growth and reducing everything down to get rid of the algae starting with maybe Rowaphos

I have read all the science behind NoPox but even though I have the correct parameters I am getting hair algea when it's supposed to control 'nuisance algea'?

The skimmate is 'wet and a tea colour'

I think the NoPox is working, but I have hair algea, so can't see anyway to maintain a phosphate of 0.1ppm and allow the tank to get overrun.

Thoughts greatly appreciated?

Last edited:

RedSeaKev

RS Sponsor