My new Max E260

DT in DXB

Hi everyone!

This is my first post so I will provide a quick introduction of myself.

I live in Dubai and have just traded in my Juwel Vision 260 freshwater tank for my first ever marine tank.
I believe this is the first E260 in Dubai so I ordered it purely from internet research.
As I am a total noob at saltwater, I was really keen on the plug and play nature of the Max systems and when the E series came out with the LED lighting, I was hooked.

My experience with the system so far (5 days) has been really good. It was easy to build and set up. The tank itself looks great and the lights are amazing. I have some photos of the whole process:

20160524_190318_1464454924537.jpg 20160524_195805_1464454925155.jpg 20160525_212412_1464454925408.jpg 20160526_154658_1464454925656.jpg 20160526_154705_1464454925775.jpg 20160526_165910_1464454925874.jpg 20160526_165913_1464454925951.jpg 20160526_173323_1464454926072.jpg 20160526_173328_1464454926207.jpg 20160526_173336_1464454926337.jpg

I went for a coarse grain substrate so it wouldn't blow around in the turbulence and added about 30kg of cured live rock.
My local fish store said that I didn't need to use RO/DI water which surprised me but when I saw their tanks that were using bottled water, I went for that. RO/DI units are really hard to get here and bottled water is cheap but I hope I don't regret this decision!

The water became crystal clear in less that 2 days which was impressive and now I am just tinkering with the salinity level and getting the hang of using the multiple test kits that I now have! I did my first set of tests today with the following results:

Salinity: 1.024
PH: 8.2
Kh: 3.75 (10.5 dKh)
Calcium: 430
Ammonia: 0.0154 ppm (Not sure if I did the maths right on this one)
Nitrate: 10