Antics Red Sea Max C-250

Antics

I decided to wait a half dozen weeks or so before posting my build so that I would have plenty of photos for everyone to enjoy. Just as a little background information about me, I live in Florida and have been in the hobby between 6-8 years with periods of inactivity in between. I also work at a LFS so I have a varied degree of experience listening to interesting problems and solutions on a daily basis.

My last aquarium with a reef was a 60 gallon cube. I liked the tank a lot but I had three real complaints that won over and made me break the system down and sell out of the hobby for a year or so.

• Rimless
While I do think that rimless aquariums look great, I think they have a number of problems that outweigh the aesthetics. For me personally, I didn't like that I was uncomfortable buying a number of fish due to their flight risks.​
  • Light Bleed
I also did not care for the substantial amount of light bleed that was being thrown off the sides of my aquarium. It was located in my home office about 4 feet from my desk. Everyday I was annoyed with my aquarium because a bright light would constantly be shinning directly in my eye. It was giving me headaches and causing a lot of resentment toward my fish and coral, despite them having nothing to do with the aquarium placement or light choice!​
  • Filtration
At the time I couldn't find any type of "cube" sump that could house an adequate protein skimmer among other things. Because of this, I used a full size sump/refugium and skimmer on the aquarium but kept it outside of the stand. This was a huge eye sore and basically had my wife complaining every other day. I can't lie though, it really was unreasonable of me to try and justify that mess of equipment and noise.