Algae issues :(

Felicia houston

OK I'm having a red slime issue I think it's gone then it comes back worse than before I have been avoiding chemical treatment with water changes and cleaning it off rocks and now it's on my sand and just doesn't seem to be going away at all, should I resort to the chemical treatment? Its a 75 gal aquarium no coral yet as im having a copper issue thats being delt with, Water parameters have been within standard, feed every other day I'm still new to saltwater aquariums and still learning so all help is greatly appreciated!

cracker

Hi Felicia, How old is your tank? I have a new 75 . What critters do You have in Your tank?wait until the experts reply before You go with chemical treatments. They will want specifics like filtration, lighting, water parameters etc. What's up with the copper issue?
Oh Ya, welcome to Reef Sanctuary, Lots of friendly people here !

DaveK

In my opinion, you should never ever use one of the red slime algae killer products to attempt to control an algae outbreak. The problem is that if you don't fix what is causing the problem, all you will do is replace one problem algae with a different problem algae.

What is the copper issue your dealing with? This is likely to be a much larger problem than the red slime, and it may be related.

I have poster the following before, but it applicable here. Once we know a bit more about your system, it may be possible to make more specific recommendations.

DaveK's Standard Lecture #2 - Algae Control

Algae control comes down to controlling nitrates and phosphates. If you have a problem with algae it is because these two nutrients are out of control. Do not think that just because your test kits read zero or low values that you do not have a problem. In many cases the algae is removing the nutrients and growing. This is why there is a problem.

Here are possible sources of nitrates and phosphates -