Anybody had a bad/disappointed experience with biopellets?

cracker

I have been running biopellets for about 5 months now. I lost pretty much all the HA and bubble algaes I had. However my corals just don't look good. The tankmis also overrun with this lite brown algae but that's another story maybe. Just wanted to know if anybody ran pellets and didn't like them. Thanks

Antics

I've heard my fair share about biopellets, but most people that complain say that it doesn't work. In my experience, running a biopellet reactor has always been reasonably successful on my personal aquariums.

cracker

Thanks for the reply. I also have had reasonable success with cutting back on the HA and bubble. Has anybody had adverse effects on corals ?
so I had a bad HA and bubble issue. Corals were looking fine. I started running the biopellets There is a little HA in the overflows and the bubble is about gone. However this light brown whatever has taken over and the corals are looking bad. I don't think I over did it with the pellets. I realize there are many variables, lighting, water quality, etc. Just trying to address each one at a time,.

MatroxD

What are your levels showing or at? You might have pulled everything as far as nutrients. And not looking good in how specifically, and what type of coral?

Sent from my SM-N920F using Tapatalk

cracker

I have that info ! As of 4/17/16 I don't test constant. Salinity at 25/26.
Ca 420
alk 8.4
mg 1240
No3 0
po4 <.08
I didn't trust the no3 and po4 so was tested by my trusted LFS They must be there ,just tied up in the algae.
I have a few corals. Several open brains colts ,toadstool several anchors and 2 Sps that are looking very sad. I have 3 medium sized fish.