Recent content by reeferman

1. reeferman

150 gallon tank on second floor? Will it hold?

hey Ken Ken,i see youre in GA,whereabouts?
  2. reeferman

with the joists running perpendicular to the tank and being TGIs,you could go bigger but the size youve picked would suffice IMHO.too much bigger and you will get a little deflection. youre very welcome. hey Glenn,thanks!
  3. reeferman

take this advice for what its worth...im a master carpenter with over 20 yrs experience in building homes.you are perfectly safe with a tank over that area. as for the joists being 24" on center...they are not,thats 16" center all day.theres not many areas in the US that would allow a wooden...
  4. reeferman

Bryan's 120 Reef

just popping in Bryan.its great to see my babies all grown up.youve done a fantastic job bud!
  5. reeferman

Choff's RSM 650 Build

awesome Mike.mine are long aquacultured and that helps a lot when trouble arises.not saying theyre bulletproof by any means but they seem to be tougher.
  6. reeferman

Choff's RSM 650 Build

water quality is an even more important factor in stony coral growth and color than light is.it is the single most important factor. thanks for the very kind words Mike and Glenn,means a lot
  7. reeferman

Choff's RSM 650 Build

i built my own fixtures and only use royal blue,cool whites and warm whites.you dont need any other colors,theyre just for our viewing pleasure
  8. reeferman

Choff's RSM 650 Build

im completely sold on leds for sps growth[acropora specifically].ive been led for about 4 years and the color and growth is excellent. Bryan[PSU4ME]and Mike[Choff] can attest to my growth and color.leds are absolutely a very viable light source for sps.
  9. reeferman

Blue Reef Chromis - Can they get along ?

if they had stringy poo,then there was an internal parasite
  10. reeferman

Choff's RSM 650 Build