Johns first coral adventure RSR 425xl

chickenjohn

Hi guys
It will be a few weeks yet before I get my tank but I have already started to buy equipment and everything coral.
I have always kept fowlr tanks before but after about 3-4 years out of the salty side I have decided to go for a reef tank so im a complete newbie when it comes to corals so decided to start a tank thread.
I have decided on a RSM LED-E 260 without the bottom sump (can always get one later if need be).
Im going to use Red Sea products and follow the reef care program.
Here is the list of things ive got so far:
red sea salt (blue bucket)
red sea magnesium, calcium and kh all in powder form
red sea trace colours a,b,c,d
red sea reef energy a and b
red sea nopox
red sea reef mature starter kit to cycle tank

Test kits, all red sea:
calcium pro
magnesium pro
kh pro
nitrate pro
phosphate pro
ammonia
nitrite

Equipment:
being an all in one tank it doesn't need much extra equipment but I have got so far
tunze 6040 for added flow
tunze 3155 osmolator
I already have all the other bits such as refractometer, heater and such like from before

I need a doser but this is where I need help, I have narrowed it down to a kamoer x4 or the new d-d pro, would like to hear peoples opinions on the 2 dosers.
Will add pictures and more when the tank arrives.

I welcome any and all comments whether favourable or criticism, its how im going to learn
If there is anything else you think I need or don't need please let me know your thoughts.
Cheers
John

DaveK

Save your money on the dosing subsystem, at least until you figure out what corals you are going to keep and what their demands will be for calcium, alkalinity and everything else.