First setup of a planted tank

JamesNorris

Hello Everyone,

Ok, so I am a layman when it comes to planted tanks. I setup my tank by first putting a layer of aquatic compost, and then topped with substrate. I then placed my very large piece of bogwood into the tank. Then I put a couple of inches of water in to plant the grass type plants, and also put in a few selections of other plants. I have my filter and heater in the tank (switched on) also.

The water level was about 80% full, and as I tried to top it off, I noticed the large bog wood kind of floated (only when water is filled), so I assume it is almost fully saturated. So currently, the water is 80% full, the water is tinted with the wood colour (as expected), and I still need to do my first water change.

I am wondering a few things.....Should I have the light on as though its a normal setup? I read somewhere that unless a planted tank is completely fully planted (I currently just have the whole front of the 200L tank with grass type plants, and then a couple of different variations of potted plants either side (will fully plant when roots come out), that if you dont put lots and lots of plants in the tank from the start, there is a risk of algae building up with high light tanks?

I haven't put any ammonia source in the tank yet (not had chance to buy any yet), and my tank has only been set up for 3 days. Do I need an ammonia source for purely the plant growth? Also, when should I do the first water change? As stated before, i can't fill the tank otherwise the wood become less stable.

Again, I'm new to planted tanks, and the first thing I should have done is saturate the wood (or at least test it) so my fault.

Can you get treatment for water thats tinted from the wood? I know water changes will help, but I also know that with some woods, you cannot get rid of the tint.

Looking to get a co2 kit on payday (2 weeks away).

Any thoughts?
Thanks!

nanoreefing4fun

RS STAFF
Add media to...

choose an album