Flame angel

Should I keep a flame angel in a 30 gallon?

• Yes

Votes: 1 33.3%
  • No

Votes: 2 66.7%

• Total voters
  • Poll closed .

Reef6789

hi!!!:wave::wave: I am new to this forum and wanted to introduce myself. I have been keeping corals and marine fish for 5 years now. I currently have a Nano setup.
10 gallon tank with a pair of clownfish 3 blueleg hermits, a colt coral, RFA, and mushroom corals. I am looking to set up a larger tank. I was thinking about a 30 gallon. I would do mostly corals, but maybe a flame angel. So after this horribly long post with me rambling on and on here is my question: can I keep one flame angel in a 30 gallon tank.

mr_tap_water

Hi there and welcome to RS[emoji106]
In my opinion yes you can keep a flame angel but would have to be very selective with what ever else you choose to go with it as I believe it may become very dominant in such a small environment.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Reactions: SPR

DaveK

I've got to disagree with @mr_tap_water here. The minimum recommend tank size for a flame angel is about 70 gal. Now if you have say a 60 gal tank, I'd say ok, close enough to try, but a 30 is way too small. A flame angel can grow to about 4 inches.

You also have the addition possible problem in that sometime a flame angel will start eating all your corals. This depends on the individual fish. Some are model citizens.

It comes down to getting a tank and equipment needed to support the fish you want or forget about it and choose something else.

A lot of this comes down to planning. Figure out what you want to keep in the new tank and consider the requirements for them and let that drive your tank size selection.

Reef6789

Hi there and welcome to RS[emoji106]
In my opinion yes you can keep a flame angel but would have to be very selective with what ever else you choose to go with it as I believe it may become very dominant in such a small environment.