Little smudgers first marine tank - Fluval M90

Good morning all,

So I'm very new to marine aquariums although my father has kept them for over 40 years, just on an old undergravel filter method. So all the new set ups are pretty new to him too.

So I decided to buy the Fluval M90 as it seemed a nice size for a starter tank, along with having more good reviews than bad!!

I have not upgraded any of the equipment that came with the set up, although I do believe I will have to over time and as I become more familiar with how things are done and what's needed.

just over two weeks ago, I added the "sea ready" sand along with the salt water and 12kg of living rock (135ltr tank including rear filtration area)

Over the first two weeks I've been testing the salt level and nitrate levels. Salt levels have remained at 1250 and the nitrate has dropped from the original test of 20 to 10.

I do have the tiny star fish that I have read about, they seem to be multiplying and may need to start picking them out. Along with what's. ow been identified as a bristle worm, and from the advise given I'm guessing is no harm to the tank.

Over the past couple of days, I've had a massive increase in brown algae across the tanks sand bed and living rock, I clear this up daily by agitating the sand and brushing it off areas of the living rock that I can get to (any advice would be great haha)

So really, I'm just waiting for the next step and whether the tank is ready to have anything introduced to help with 1. The brown algae and 2. Help kick start the whole reef system.

I have a few photos, but nothing exciting I'm afraid.

I look forward to sharing my new tank coming to life with you all

DaveK

The brown algae is usually diatoms. Usually they just go away after a few weeks. As for trying to "kick start" anything, just leave it alone for now and give it time.