My Biocube 29

TAMPATIM

Hello,

So I am new to site and SW tanks in general. I currently have a BioCube 29 which I bought used. It has been running for 11 weeks. Cycle is complete. Current livestock is a maroon clownfish and a Valentini puffer. I also have a peppermint shrimp, fighting conch, and assorted hermits and snails. For coral I have one small Frogspawn frag. I have removed the bioballs and replaced it with an In tank media basket running filter floss, Phosguard, and Chemipure. The lights are stock CF and they are 1 year old. I am looking to upgrade and replace. I also added a Hydor Flo deflector on the return pump and a Jebao PP4 wave maker. I will add pics late today of rockwork, etc.

Current parameters:
SG: 1.022
Nitrate: 10ppm
Phosphate: 0.25ppm
Calcium: 320 ppm
KH: dKH 7/125.3

What I want to add: (over time)
-Clown Goby
-BTA
-Starfish (but I don't think that's a good idea in this size tank)

Planned upgrades:
-Steve's LED retrofit w/ moonlights
-Tunze 9001 Skimmer

So I will post pics and info as I upgrade and continue this adventure. For now my questions are:

Should I be concerned by current parameters? I am doing weekly water changes (4 gallons) and using Phosguard

Thoughts on Steve's LEDs? I plan to keep mixed corals (mostly softies and LPS) and a BTA

Do I need a skimmer?

mr_tap_water

A skimmer will help with your Bio load but is not essential providing you doing regular water changes,
With some of your stats if you're intending to keep corals such as LPSs and SPSs you may need to tweak your stats a bit more,
Say more on the lines of a Sg of 1.025-1.026
Phos 0.03
Cal. 420
Mag 1350

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

TAMPATIM

Cheers for start a tank thread - pretty puffer !

I have & love my Steve's LEDs