Susan's RMS Max C250

Susanedw

I'm new and am assuming I should start a thread here. Basically adding my intro here as a start

I'm new to SW but have had FW in the past. My hopefully future son-in-law has a 300g tank with a separate sump room and he started my dau with a RMS 40 or 50 gal. They inspired me to take the plunge. It's been many years since I had a tank. I love watching fish.

I happened upon my tank, a RMS Max c250 (66 gal) in Craigs list--brand new, put together but never used for a price I couldn't pass up: About a third of the going prices I saw online! He bought it for his mobile home and decided it would be too heavy.

It's set up now (Dec 15) and starting its cycle. I added a shrimp today to help it along. Looking forward to this new adventure. I put it in my office where I spend most of the day writing so I can enjoy it. No one else here during the day and hubby hides in his office when he comes home. figure it would be wasted elsewhere in the house <g>

Right now have tons of micro air bubbles since starting the skimmer. Found this site using google, read some suggestions and will remove air valve and play around with it after I give it a day or two to see if it adjusts on its own as I just turned the skimmer on today.

The photo shows temp probe which will be moved to sump on back, some brown stuff bottom of sand bed. Hoping that's good. String attached to shrimp for easy removal in a couple days. Mag cleaner on front holding thread...

I added probably about 45-50 lbs of dry rock. Mostly from Marco with 2 pcs pukani and 1 tonga shelf from BRS. Sand is Caribbsea Bimini. Working on adding an ATO. Have it. just need an appropriate container. Jug I planned to use isn't going to be conveinant.

Researching clean up crew while going through the cycle. Want to be ready to add my first life!

20161217_181059 resized.jpg

DaveK